TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8

Everything related to the code /
Tout ce qui touche au code
Post Reply
User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8

Post by zuzuf » Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:21 pm

it's there :)

this release is the first to use repositories for Linux packages (Ubuntu & Mandriva 2008.1), packages are available for 32bits and 64bits OSes. Allegrogl and fmod packages are available too to satisfy dependencies.

This test release brings lots of bug fixes and a few improvements I let you discover, enjoy :D

TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8 source
TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8 win32

Ubuntu repository:

Code: Select all

deb http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/apt/ stable main
deb http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/apt/ testing main
Mandriva repository (just click the link, it'll add the repository):
http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/urpmi/ta3d.urpmi-media
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:12 pm

:P :P :P :P :P :P :P :D :D :D :D :D

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:50 am

Also, Zuzuf, we need a DETAILED list of changes, especially for tauniverse forum. Where can I get one?

P.S. Changelog and News that are shipped with 0.5.T8 are outdated (0.4.2)

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:30 pm

if you want the list of all changes :
http://ta3d-trac.shikami.org/log/
(between r1120 and r1208)

here is a small summary:

Code: Select all

* several fixes in CMake process
* added a unit selection screen to select units you want to play with and disabled units you don't want to play with
* increase hit_fast sensibility so no units will be spare by the engine :P
* the console now has a command history, you can navigate with arrows (==> arrows scrolling disabled when console is activated)
* don't load Shader objects that are not required (prevents crashes when GLSL programs don't compile ... ATI again :/ )
* changed map bloc culling equation, now we use a better approximation that doesn't hide any visible bloc :) (fixes #54)
* fixed units wanting to finish a move order when mission->step is set
* particle engine is faster
* computing nanolathe emmitters is done in UNIT::Locked code, this should fix deadlock #78
* fixed repair pads not consumming energy when repairing and planes consumming energy ... (#83)
* fixed FBI parser not being case sensitive (fixes #73)
* fixed non water weapons firing when under water ... commander weapons doesn't work any more under water (#81)
* fixed canceled units not giving back metal (#76)
* fixed canceled units counting as losses (#74)
* fixed anti missile weapons scanning map for enemies (they can't target them anyway), cf #79
* fixed anti missile units not drawing a coverage circle on mini map (#79)
* fixed radar/sonar jammers not drawing range circle on minimap
* fixed radar/sight range being twice what it should be
* fixed radars and sonars not working properly when FOW is disabled
* fixed #77 (planned buildings shown on top of real units)
* fixed #75 (resumed constructions don't contribute free metal any more)
* fixed GL_CULL_FACE being disabled when rendering building previews (before actually giving the order to build)
* fixed several compilation issues
* code cleaning
* unit selection code improved
* invisibile units should be visible when an enemy is close enough
* several deadlocks fixed
* GL_CLAMP replaced with GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE
* changed cmake minimum version to 2.6 (2.4 doesn't build TA3D any more)
* replaced all free/malloc calls with delete/new
* fixed build menu order (back to normal)
* fixed menu order when loading from sidedata.tdf only (without *.gui files)
* print player numbers as integers (1, 2, ...) instead of raw characters (^@, ^A, ...).
* FBI loader rewritten (old version still in comments ... I am sure we'll have bugs and looking at it will be necessary)
* added a hashtable to the texture manager in order to speed up loading of *.3DO (takes 18 secs instead of 20 during tests :P)
* improved feature loader complexity :)
* fixed a HUGE memory leak (reduced memory consumption by 100Mb on my Linux 64 system OO !!)
* updated win32 specific Paths to have a standard profile system and an overriden path system that uses application root directory
* new option to render underwater units/features/wreckages brighter so that you can see the better
* fixed several Paths bugs
* fixed cancel button in briefing menu not doing anything
* TA3D's Virtual File System has been improved
* several bug fixes in OBJ, 3DO and ASC loaders
* fixed loading of unit IDs in restore module (IDs were reseted after being read resulting in units losing their targets ...)
* new option for texture compression added (beware that not compressing textures requires lots of memory ...)
* fixed planes sometimes not obeying orders (when flying above water and looking for a place to land instead of going back to work :/)
* default mission queue given by factories is now copied to built units instead of being added to MISSION_MOVE order given to make then leave the factory
* updated some weapon code to support aiming/querying/firing scripts for more than 3 weapons
* improved planned units preview for water units
Currently, Changelog and News are outdated, but since we're making lots of changes, we cannot write everything to the Changelog (a summary is enough). So unless someone wants to update it for each test release it'll stay as is.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:47 pm

Wow, many really usefull improvments!

Intro text is now displayed properly!!!
There is no more black stripes on the landscape!!!! All seems pretty nice, except old bug with textures :)

It feels like game runs MUCH more faster and stable!
And could you please leave screenshots in /ta3d/ dir, I`ve tired of searching them in Documents and Settings->...->...->...


BUGS:

1. While playing if you press ESC to display the Pause screen and chose return to game - the game still don`t unpause.

2. When commander is building underwater - particles should be displayed.

3. Shipyard builds with BLACK nanolathe particles. And land builders too simetimes... Strange..

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:38 pm

that's good news :)

I've already fixed a few crashes since test 8, so it becomes really stable (I played several hours without a crash with more than thousand units per player and 4 players on the map :P ). I also fixed a few rendering bugs and improved some rendering functions :).

So here we come with minor bugs to fix :D, that's cool. Can you reproduce the black particles bug ?

I also have the impression the game is much faster, playing with a map saturated with enemy units is smooth on my laptop :)
=>;-D Penguin Powered

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:08 pm

No, i wasn`t able to reproduce black particles bug :( Maybe with more number of test we`ll figure the cause.

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:20 pm

I've looked closer at the particle code, I don't see how those particles can become black :
_color array is disabled so the drawing color is set to white resulting in texture color not modified
_texture config looks safe here
_blending is correctly configured

I tried to reproduce it too but without success :(, may be more testing will allow to track it.

in the mean time I've made some 3D models to replace crystal spire sprites :), crystal maps looks much better with 3D crystals :D
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Vampiloup
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:13 am

Post by Vampiloup » Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:40 pm

Hi,

I try to install ta3d and i have that :

Code: Select all

[root@**** ****]# urpmi ta3d
Le paquetage demandé ne peut pas être installé :
ta3d-0.5.0.WIP.r1208-1.i586 (car libfmodex.so est non satisfait)
Désirez-vous tout de même continuer ? (O/n)       

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:31 pm

Hurray for cristal spires :) Maybe I could create some new resources too :)

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:50 pm

Balthazar: we've plenty of things to remake :D

Vampiloup: interesting, fmod package should be in the repository ... I am going to check that.
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Doors
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Doors » Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:09 pm

Vampiloup wrote:Hi,

I try to install ta3d and i have that :

Code: Select all

[root@**** ****]# urpmi ta3d
Le paquetage demandé ne peut pas être installé :
ta3d-0.5.0.WIP.r1208-1.i586 (car libfmodex.so est non satisfait)
Désirez-vous tout de même continuer ? (O/n)       
The libfmodex.a is missing from both the SVN and the tests.
I added it to mine at

src\tools\win32\mingw32\libs

It is in my SVN in place. Warning though, my svn is only intended for compilation with Mingw32 4.3.0 on win32. I can make no promises about it compiling anywhere else.

The default package also complains about missing nl.dll & alleg42.dll
Still compiles fine and plays though.

I have put up my demo on my site, it installs to c:\games\ta3d and contains all the files needed to play. The content files are from tademo for PC & Mac with a few extra's from the cavedog ftp that are redistributable.

With the inclusion of the needed libraries in the source I have been able to cut down the complexity of my package a lot, thx. I will be upping my ta3d source package and compiler with it included this weekend.

I have also added kinboats tools W/Sourcecode to the Tools section.

Enjoy.
Don't just look at the future through a window.
Open a door and go there.
http://ta3d.freedoors.org
http://www.freedoors.org
http://baencd.freedoors.org

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:57 pm

Vampiloup: ok it's fixed (tested in a VM), fmod package was corrupted so genhdlist didn't put it in hdlist.cz

Doors: I am going to test it right now :) , and I just uploaded libfmodex.a to svn but I put it in mingw32/static/ :D , anyway both path should work
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Vampiloup
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:13 am

Post by Vampiloup » Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:19 am

Kay', installed.

[/code]
[Sun Sep 7 09:06:43 2008] [infos] [battle] Loading the GUI...
[Sun Sep 7 09:06:43 2008] [debug] loading gui/default.skn
[Sun Sep 7 09:06:48 2008] [infos] [battle] Loading the map...
[Sun Sep 7 09:06:48 2008] [debug] [battle] Extracting `maps\over crude water.tnt`...
Shutting down Allegro due to signal #11
/usr/games/ta3d: line 32: 6870 Erreur de segmentation ${exe}/ta3d-bin $quickrestart $1 $2 $3 $4 $5 $6 $7 $8 $9 $10

Code: Select all


Sorry  :oops:  

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:22 am

what do you get if you try another map ?

It seems to crash in HPI code ... that's not good :x

how and where did you install your HPI archives ?
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Vampiloup
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:13 am

Post by Vampiloup » Sun Sep 07, 2008 1:41 pm

Copy-past from another installation in the "/usr/share/games/ta3d/" since with the "FREE" linux rpm system, i am FREE to let the system install the software where IT want (but i know it's for my own good, no really).


Tried the unit chooser. Lot of :

Code: Select all

[Sun Sep  7 15:54:36 2008] [debug] Loading the unit `CORMEX`...
[Sun Sep  7 15:54:36 2008] [error] `CORMEX` without a 3D model


P.S. I'm NOT angry.

Doors
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8

Post by Doors » Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:19 pm

zuzuf wrote:it's there :)

this release is the first to use repositories for Linux packages (Ubuntu & Mandriva 2008.1), packages are available for 32bits and 64bits OSes. Allegrogl and fmod packages are available too to satisfy dependencies.

This test release brings lots of bug fixes and a few improvements I let you discover, enjoy :D

TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8 source
TA3D 0.5.0 TEST 8 win32

Ubuntu repository:

Code: Select all

deb http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/apt/ stable main
deb http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/apt/ testing main
Mandriva repository (just click the link, it'll add the repository):
http://ta3d.darkstars.co.uk/urpmi/ta3d.urpmi-media
If anyone cares I finally have both my demo game and new compiler up.
The demo extracts to c:\games\ta3d with files from the tademo's and cavedog ftp so you can play a demo game even if you don't have the original. It is also configured to use local resources & files instead storing things in your user profile, my preferred way of doing things.

The demo is minus a units at second level but still plays. I am working on building up necessary resources or locating replacement units to make this demo fully playable.

The compiler is now Mingw32 4.3.0 With Msys 1.0.11 & Cmake 2.61 preconfigured with ta3d-dev as the logon name. Extracts to c:\ta3dmingw by default. (Many thanks to Zuzuf Etc for merging the libraries with the sourcecode, it makes this a lot easier in windows since it insists on tying everything together.)
Don't just look at the future through a window.
Open a door and go there.
http://ta3d.freedoors.org
http://www.freedoors.org
http://baencd.freedoors.org

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:09 pm

Vampiloup wrote:Copy-past from another installation in the "/usr/share/games/ta3d/" since with the "FREE" linux rpm system, i am FREE to let the system install the software where IT want (but i know it's for my own good, no really).
the packaging system may still be buggy (we adapted our VFS only a few revisions ago ...), so it may be a path bug or something like that.
Vampiloup wrote:Tried the unit chooser. Lot of :

Code: Select all

[Sun Sep  7 15:54:36 2008] [debug] Loading the unit `CORMEX`...
[Sun Sep  7 15:54:36 2008] [error] `CORMEX` without a 3D model
yes, TA3D only loads unit information not 3D models, we should disable this log output while doing this.
Vampiloup wrote: P.S. I'm NOT angry.
I am not either, I just don't like bugs :P

Doors: I tested your demo package (with wine), and I must say that's great to have some campaign missions to play :wink:
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Doors
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Doors » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:16 pm

zuzuf wrote: Doors: I tested your demo package (with wine), and I must say that's great to have some campaign missions to play :wink:
Did it play ok under wine?
I only had time to check on 2k.
The rest will have to wait a few days, got another short job.

There were campaigns in that?
cool, I just gathered the tademo stuff.
I am working on building arm and core sides of just third party units that are equivalent to the cavedog ones. Thought it might be nice to have.
Don't just look at the future through a window.
Open a door and go there.
http://ta3d.freedoors.org
http://www.freedoors.org
http://baencd.freedoors.org

User avatar
zuzuf
Administrateur - Site Admin
Posts: 3281
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by zuzuf » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:18 pm

it plays just as expected :), no crash, no visible bug, no problem to finish the campaign mission I tested :D
=>;-D Penguin Powered

Doors
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Doors » Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:31 am

zuzuf wrote:it plays just as expected :), no crash, no visible bug, no problem to finish the campaign mission I tested :D
That's great.

I also just updated my demo archive.

I found some problems with what I had so I redid it a bit.
It's bigger now but much more stable, extra resources added that were missing.
Don't just look at the future through a window.
Open a door and go there.
http://ta3d.freedoors.org
http://www.freedoors.org
http://baencd.freedoors.org

User avatar
Balthazar
Moderator
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by Balthazar » Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:22 am

Thanks, Doors! I`ll try your version of TA3D for sure! Many thanks!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests